robin-schindelka.reismee.nl

Going to South-Africa for five months!

Ever since I was little, I've been fascinated with the world and its great diversity and beauty. It sounds cliché to say that I feel like I was born to travel, since wanderlust has become a common, mostly western privilege that 90% of the people claims to have (crf: the huge amount of people putting stuff like "worldtraveler" or "travel is my passion" in their bio on Instagram). However, I'm proud to be one of those many many people who call themselves travelers, and that's why I'm here again. Another traveler, writing another blogpost on another amazing adventure. This time: 5 months of studying and traveling in South-Africa.

At this moment, I'm on my first flight from Belgium to Madrid. After this I'm flying to Johannesburg, and finally I'm flying to Capetown, where someone from my University will come pick me up to go to Stellenbosch. So basically, my journey hasn't even started yet and I'm already writing about it (as real travelers do I suppose). Listening to one of my favorite songs: Lonely Bed by Albert Cummings, and drinking my favorite beer (because what else is there to do on a plane but to get a little drunk), I've started reflecting on the process that got me motivated and enthousiastic to go to South Africa. I've wanted to go to Stellenbosch University since my first year of studying in Leuven. It's just the most amazing setting of a University I've ever seen, the program sounded amazing, and the diversity of people with all kinds of nationalities is what I've been wanting to experience my whole life, especially after meeting so many amazing people when I traveled to Bali and Kenia.
As a result, when I got the chance to apply, I was the verry first todoso and I got my chance to finally go.
It will be summer when I arrive: 35 degrees Celcius and sun, and I can't put in to words how much I am craving for some warm weather and sunshine. Last summer the weather in Belgium was amazing but since I was in Kenia all summer and it was winter there, I haven't been able to enjoy some good summer weather since I went to Bali the year before.

Except for the weather, the things I'm looking forward to the most is the diversity of people, the gorgeous scenery, experiencing University life in a different country with a different language, and last but not least: the wine tasting (no mom, no dad, I'm not an alcoholic). Stellenbosch is known for its vineyards and amazing wine tasting opportunities so I'm definitely going to take advantage of that. Plus the scenery of the vineyards is just amazing!
I'm a little nervous for my arrival since I don't really have a clue what's going to happen when I arrive. I'm not the most organized and well-prepared person in the world as some of you may know, and although I've really done my best, it's still going to be pretty chaotic and a bit stressful in the beginning. The weather however will totally make up for it and I know for sure that after a week I'll be settled down and ready to fully relax and enjoy my amazing experience of studying in South-Africa, meeting so many new people, doing new things and getting a tan ?.

I don't want to make this post too long since I'm probably writing another one pretty soon with my first impressions and experiences of South-Africa. I just thought I'd write a quick introduction on where I am and what I'm doing for the next five months for those of you that are interested. You by the way now have reached the end of my post so congrats and thank you for caring ?.

I have to get of the plane soon so this is where I'm ending my first post on South-Africa (lol I'm not even there yet).
See you in my next post and wish me good luck!

Xx Robin.

Reacties

Reacties

Beverly Schindelka

You are an amazing inspiring woman and even though we haven't talked much lately I would really like to Change that and will be reading all your posts with great anticipation! Enjoy your drink on the plane, lol! ♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!