robin-schindelka.reismee.nl

The most amazing experience of my life

Saturday, 23 september 2017

This is my last story on my amazing trip to Bali. I decided to write this last one in English because a lot of people from all around the world that I've met here asked me if they could read it. So here it is, I hope you enjoy!

The second half of my trip here in Bali has been even more fantastic than the first. I can't keep count of all the incredible people I've met here from all around the world and I thank them all so much for making this experience the best one I've ever had.
I loved teaching English and playing games with the kids of my class, they are sweethearts! I wish I would have had more time with them to teach them more and get to know them better but I had a great experience and I am so happy that I did it. On our last day of teaching they gave me some beautiful flowers and painted T-shirts for Gabriella, my teaching partner, and me to take home with us. They were so great!
Even though my last week here was fabulous, we all got a little worried when the news came that the mount Agung, a big Volcano 20 miles from Ubud, showed signs of activity and has a chance of exploding. Parents got worried and some people even went home early just to be safe. Gabriella was one of them and so day she left, we went with a small group to Ubud center where I had discovered a beautiful rice field and we just sat there with good music and some food and drinks. It was the perfect afternoon and a perfect way to say goodbye.
For the rest of the last week, I tried to get as much out of it as I could while spending as little money as possible. If there is one thing I've learned by traveling on my own for 3 weeks it is that traveling is really expensive, even in such a cheap place as BalI.
I went to the Ubud market where I bargained my very best to get souvenirs for my friends and family.
I also went to the monkey forest, a mini-jungle in the center of Ubud where you could walk between the monkeys and feed them banana's. It was funny to see some of the crazy things some tourists will do to get a good picture. I saw one woman who was surrounded by a couple of monkeys there and she was trying to get a good picture but the monkeys ended up steeling some of her stuff and pulling her skirt down. Monkeys will be monkeys after all.
On Wednesday I went with Justin, a guy from Belgium, to the Water Palace by scooter. It was a 2 hour drive and my but hurt like crazy but it was definitely worth it. I had a nice day and finally got to talk some Dutch again for a couple of hours. There is a rule at the volunteer center that if you talk your own language with someone you have to drink so that people would always talk English and everybody can understand everybody. Good luck for the Englishmen and people from the US, Australia and Canada! 

For the rest I enjoyed the sun, the people and the food there as much as I could for the last days. I tried to get satisfied of the Bali vibes but it's just impossible. I am now at the airport waiting for my plain back home and as much as I miss my friends, family and lovely life back in Belgium, I do not want to leave this place. Bali is paradise and I fell in love with it. It changed me as a person in only good ways and I am so incredibly grateful for it. As I am grateful for Bali and its exotic beauty, I am also thankful for a lot of the wonderful people I've met here. You each and every one contributed to this crazy experience and I wouldn't have wanted it any other way. You all have a place in my heart!

To Melissa and Nicole from the US: thank you for your enthusiasm and happy faces that made me smile so easily! I had an awesome week with you guys in Lovina and will always remember our talk by the Ocean at the bonfire that you shared with me, Nicole. I loved partying with you guys at the Gili's and wish you all the best in Ubud! 

To Marie from Germany: thank you for being the first friend I made here in Bali. Even though I didn't see you for very long, I loved our talks and I hope you get the chance to come back to Bali one day and finish your travel the way you were supposed to!

To Sam the palm tree-guy from England: Thank you so much for all the wisdom you've shared with me. You are an inspiring person and you are going to do great things in your life. Thank you for showing me the book (who ordered this truckload of junk: best book ever!) and your stories. I feel honored that I get to be a part of your book, of which I am sure it's going to be amazing!

To Justin from Belgium: Thank you for giving me a little piece of home here in Bali. I enjoyed our day to the water palace a lot and thank you for learning me how to drive a scooter ;-). I will see you soon! 

To Ben from France: thank you for making me feel really happy. You are the most crazy person I ever met and I am gratefull that you didn't die here in Bali, even though you almost did 4 times ;-). Our weekend trip to Jimbaran was amazing and thank you for making me overcome my fear of fish with the snorkeling trip, it was great! See you very soon and love you, singe arrogant. 

To Gabby from Colombia: THANK YOU SO MUCH for being the most amazing teaching partner I could have hoped for! You are so beautiful and smart and funny and strong and I just admire you for it. Thank you for being my friend and I wish you all the best on your amazing travels the next months. I will see you in Colombia soon!! Love you very much. 

To all the other people I've met in Lovina and Ubud, from volunteers to coordinators to Taxi drivers: Thank you all so so so much for sharing this experience with me and doing these amazing things to help make the world a beautiful place. I wish you all the very best in life and all your further travels and adventures. If any of you ever wants to come to Belgium, you are all welcome!  

Lots of love and smiles and happyness, 

Robin :-) 

Reacties

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!